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MARYLAND WITHHOLDING

TAX FACTS
January 2025 - December 2025

This edition of  Withholding Tax Facts offers information about 
filing your employer withholding tax forms, reconciliation 
statement and other employer withholding related forms.

INCOME TAX RATE
The local income tax is computed without regard to the impact 
of the state tax rate. The state rates and rate brackets are 
indicated below:

TAX RATE SCHEDULE I
For taxpayers filing as Single, Married Filing Separately, or as 
Dependent Taxpayers. This rate is also used for taxpayers filing 
as Fiduciaries.
Taxable Net Income is:	 Maryland Tax is:
	 Over	 But Not Over
$	 1	 $	 1,000	 2% of the amount 

	 1,001		  2,000	 $20 plus 3.00 % of the excess over $1,000 

	 2,001		  3,000	 $50 plus 4.00 % of the excess over $2,000 

	 3,001		  100,000	 $90 plus 4.75% of the excess over $3,000 

	 100,001		  125,000	 $4,697.50 plus 5.00% of the excess over $100,000 

	 125,001		  150,000	 $5,947.50 plus 5.25% of the excess over $125,000 

	 150,001		  250,000	 $7,260.00 plus 5.50 % of the excess over $150,000 

	 250,001		  500,000	 $12,760.00 plus 5.75% of the excess over $250,000 

	 500,001		 1,000,000	 $27,135.00 plus 6.25% of the excess over $500,000 

	1,000,001		 _______	 $58,385.00 plus 6.50% of the excess over $1,000,000

TAX RATE SCHEDULE II
For taxpayers Married Filing Jointly, Head of Household, or 
for Qualifying Surviving Spouse.
Taxable Net Income is:	 Maryland Tax is:
	 Over	 But Not Over
$ 	 1	 $	 1,000	 2.00 % of the amount 

	 1,001		  2,000	 $20 plus 3.00 % of the excess over $1,000 

	 2,001		  3,000	 $50 plus 4.00 % of the excess over $2,000 

	 3,001		  150,000	 $90 plus 4.75% of the excess over $3,000 

	 150,001		  175,000	 $7,072.50 plus 5.00 % of the excess over $150,000 

	 175,001		  225,000	 $8,322.50 plus 5.25% of the excess over $175,000 

	 225,001		  300,000	 $10,947.50 plus 5.50 % of the excess over $225,000 

	 300,001		  600,000	 $15,072.50 plus 5.75% of the excess over $300,000 

	 600,001		 1,200,000	 $32,322.50 plus 6.25 % of the excess over $600,000 

	1,200,001		  _______	 $69,822.50 plus 6.50% of the excess over $1,200,000

Note: These tax rates are used for computing tax on individual 
tax return. Maryland law does not permit the use of a rate of 
less than 4.75% to be used for withholding tax purposes.

Reminder: Legally married same-sex couples must file as 
Married Filing Jointly or Married Filing Separately for tax 
year 2024. Employees wishing to adjust their withholding to 
reflect married status should complete a new Maryland Form 
MW507, as well as federal Form W-4.

PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS
Employees may be required to adjust their personal exemption 
amount if their federal adjusted gross income exceeds $100,000, 
or if they wish to use their excess itemized deductions as 
exemptions. These employees should refer to the Maryland 
Exemption Certificate (Form MW507) for guidance to 
determine how many exemptions they may claim.
As an employer, you are to treat each exemption as if it were 
$3,200.
COUNTY RATES
Local tax is based on taxable income and not on Maryland state 
tax. Listed below are the actual 2025 local income tax rates.
We provide separate tables for the convenience of employers who 
do not withhold using an automated or computerized system, 
or who prefer to look up the amounts to be withheld manually. 
For these tables, we have continued our practice of grouping 
the local income tax rates into rate brackets. For 2025, we 
will use the following brackets: 2.25%, 2.40%, 2.65%, 2.75%, 
3.00%, 3.05%, 3.10%, 3.20% and 3.30%. Refer to the county 
listing below and use the table that agrees with, or is closest 
to, without going below the actual local tax rate. Employers 
will use $3,200 as the value of an exemption when using the 
withholding tables. There is no need to adjust for any reduction 
in the exemption amount as employees are instructed to reduce 
or “phaseout” the number of exemptions being claimed on their 
Exemption Certificate, Form MW507. 
Note: For 2025, local rates for some counties have been adjusted 
(Anne Arundel*, Calvert, Cecil, Dorchester and St. Mary’s).  
Allegany	 3.03%
Anne Arundel	 see below*
Baltimore County 	 3.20%
Calvert 	 3.20%
Caroline 	 3.20%
Carroll 	 3.03%
Cecil 	 2.74%
Charles 	 3.03%
Dorchester 	 3.30%
Frederick	 see below**
Garrett 	 2.65%
Harford 	 3.06%

Howard 	 3.20%
Kent 	 3.20%
Montgomery 	 3.20%
Prince George’s 	 3.20%
Queen Anne’s 	 3.20%
St. Mary’s 	 3.20%
Somerset 	 3.20%
Talbot	 2.40%
Washington 	 2.95%
Wicomico	 3.20%
Worcester 	 2.25%
Baltimore City 	 3.20%

NOTE
*	 Anne Arundel Co. The local tax rates for taxable year 2025 

are as follows:
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	 For taxpayers with filing statuses of Single, Married Filing 
Separately and Dependent taxpayer, the local tax rates are as 
follows: 
(1)	 .0270 of Maryland taxable net income of $1 through 

$50,000;
(2)	 .0294 of Maryland taxable net income of $50,001 

through  $400,000; and
(3)	 .0320 of Maryland taxable income of over $400,000;

	 For taxpayers with filing statuses of Married Filing Jointly, 
Head of Household, or Qualified Surviving Spouse, the 
local tax rates are as follows:
(1)	 .0270 of Maryland taxable net income of $1 through 

$75,000;
(2)	 .0294 of Maryland taxable net income of $75,001 

through $480,000; and
(3)	 .0320 of Maryland taxable net income over $480,000;

**	 Frederick Co. The local tax rates for tax year 2025 are as
	 follows:
	 For taxpayers with filing statuses of Single, Married Filing 

Separately and Dependent taxpayer, the local tax rates are as follows:
(1)	 .0225 for taxpayers who have a taxable net income be-

tween $1 and not exceeding $25,000;
(2)	 .0275 for taxpayers who have a taxable net income be-

tween $25,001 and not exceeding $50,000
(3)	 .0296 for taxpayers who have a taxable net income be-

tween $50,001 and not exceeding $150,000; and
(4)	 .0320 for taxpayers who have a taxable net income of 

$150,001 or more.
	 For taxpayers with filing statuses of Married Filing Jointly, 

Head of Household, or Qualified Surviving Spouse, the 
local tax rates are as follows
(1)	 .0225 for taxpayers who have a taxable net income be-

tween $1 and not exceeding $25,000;
(2)	 .0275 for taxpayers who have a taxable net income be-

tween $25,001 and not exceeding $100,000
(3)	 .0296 for taxpayers who have a taxable net income be-

tween $100,001 and not exceeding $250,000; and 
(4)	 .0320 for taxpayers who have a taxable net income of 

$250,001 or more.

Generally, nonresidents do not have a local tax rate; however, 
an additional state tax is withheld using the lowest local tax rate 
of .0225.
Withholding tables can be downloaded from the Comptroller’s 
web site at marylandcomptroller.gov. If you do not have 
Internet access, you may call 410-260-7951 from Central 
Maryland or 1-800-MD-TAXES (1-800-638-2937) from 
elsewhere.

FOR YOUR INFORMATION
•	 Taxpayers on an accelerated filing schedule may request a 

waiver allowing monthly returns for the remainder of the 
calendar year. A renewal of the waiver is also available 
if eligibility to file federal withholding tax returns on a 
monthly basis is unchanged.

•	 Payors of distributions that are Eligible Rollover 
Distributions (ERDs) under IRC Section 3405(c), subject 
to mandatory federal income tax withholding, are required 
to withhold Maryland income tax from these distributions 
paid to Maryland residents at the rate of 7.75%.

•	 Designated Distributions are only subject to Maryland 
income tax withholding if the payee elects to have 
withholding made by the payor. The amount required to be 
withheld is the amount that the payee requests using Form 
MW507P.

•	 A spouse whose wages are exempt from Maryland income 
tax under the Military Spouses Residency Relief Act may 
claim an exemption from Maryland withholding tax by 
filing Forms MW507 and MW507M with their employer.

•	 The paper version of Business Income Tax Credits Form 
500CR was discontinued in 2013. For more information, 
see marylandcomptroller.gov. If you are a tax-exempt 
non-profit employer who is eligible for a Maryland Business 
Tax Credit, you will need to download Maryland Form 
MW508CR.

ELECTRONIC FILING
Save time and money by meeting your business tax filing 
obligations electronically. The payment methods listed below 
qualify as Electronic Fund Transfers and will meet the EFT 
requirement. 
File over the Internet and pay by direct debit: Use the 
Comptroller’s free online services for businesses, to file and pay 
online at mdtaxconnect.gov. Our online free service allows you 
to file and make your payment by electronic funds withdrawal 
(direct debit). Zero reports may also be filed through the online 
service.
File and pay by ACH Credit: File and pay withholding tax 
obligations through your bank using the ACH Credit method. 
Contact your bank to see if it offers this service. Your bank may 
charge a nominal fee for an ACH Credit transaction.
File and pay by phone: Use your telephone and the free 
ACH Debit Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) service to pay 
your employer withholding, motor fuel tax and corporation 
income tax. You must preregister for EFT payments. Visit 
marylandcomptroller.gov or call 410-260-7601 for more 
information on the EFT program and registration requirements.
File and pay by credit card: For alternative methods of payment, 
such as credit card, visit our web site at marylandcomptroller.gov.
File zero reports: If you did not withhold any Maryland 
income tax for a reporting period, DO NOT MAIL us your 
Form MW506. Instead, file free using online services or call 
410-260-7225 to file the zero report by phone. Please have the 
form in front of you when you call.

ANNUAL WITHHOLDING FILERS
Annual withholding tax filers, who have requested to continue 
to receive paper coupons, will receive a coupon book with four 
quarterly returns. Use the return with the quarter ending that 
corresponds with your tax end. For example, if your tax year 
ends between October 1 and December 31, use the fourth 
quarter coupon to report and pay tax withheld.
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FILING YOUR RETURN
•	 Filing your withholding return electronically is now the 

default option for employers. For more information visit 
mdtaxconnect.gov. We will only send paper coupons to 
employers who have requested them.

•	 If you have notified us that you wish to continue to receive 
paper coupons you will receive paper coupons in the mail by 
December 31; otherwise, you will need to use the free online 
services to file and pay your required withholding tax returns 
with the State of Maryland.

•	 The number one error is sending in the wrong coupon. If you 
are using paper coupons, please send us the coupon marked 
for the correct period.

•	 The number two error is incorrect figures. Please double-
check your entries.

•	 If you are filing accelerated (Form MW506M) you must enter 
the pay date (the day you pay your employees) on the MW506M.

•	 Use your account number on all correspondence and checks 
relating to your income tax withholding account.

•	 If a due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the 
return is due on the next business day.

•	 File Form MW506FR (Final Return) if you are closing 
your business to avoid unnecessary delinquent notices and 
collection action. This form is at marylandcomptroller.gov.

•	 When you move, please notify us of your change of address 
by writing to the Comptroller of Maryland, Revenue 
Administration Division, 110 Carroll Street, Annapolis, 
MD 21411-0001. You also may use our change of address 
form online, available at marylandcomptroller.gov. Please 
reference your Central Registration number and Federal 
Employer Identification Number (FEIN).

•	 You must provide on or before January 31st of each year, each 
employee with a wage and tax statement, federal Form W-2 
or Form 1099 containing Maryland taxes withheld.

•	 If you do not have the window envelope but do have your 
Form MW506, mail it with your payment to: Revenue 
Administration Division, P.O. Box 17132, Baltimore, MD 
21297-0175.

SPECIAL REMINDER: TAX YEAR 2024 ANNUAL 
EMPLOYER WITHHOLDING RECONCILIATION 
RETURN DUE JANUARY 31, 2025
The annual employer withholding reconciliation return (Form 
MW508) for tax year 2024 is due January 31, 2025. Form 
MW508 is available at marylandcomptroller.gov. You must 
send in the bar coded MW508 corresponding with the proper 
tax year along with the state copy of Form W-2 or 1099 for each 
person for whom income tax was withheld.
If you are submitting 25 or more W-2 or 1099 forms you are 
required to file electronically; three new options are available 
on the new Maryland Tax Connect Portal at mdtaxconnect.
gov. You will need to access the current Maryland Employer 
Reporting of W-2s or 1099s Instructions and Specifications 
which can be found on our website under Maryland Taxes, 
Business Tax Forms and Instructions.

1.	 As a Maryland Tax Connect User with a withholding ac-
count you may bulk file a W2 SSA Publication 42-007 
/ 1099 IRS Publication 1220 formatted text file in the 
modified Maryland standard format.

2.	 Register as a Transmitter User at the web portal “Mary-
land Tax Connect” to upload a W2 SSA Publication 42-
007 / 1099 IRS Publication 1220 formatted text file in 
the modified Maryland standard format.

3.	 W2s/1099s/MW508 can be keyed manually via our new 
web portal “Maryland Tax Connect” if less than 25.

Maryland will not be able to process any submissions via the 
Combined Federal/State program.
If you have questions with regard to filing your MW508 
Withholding Reconciliation return, contact Taxpayer Services 
Division at 410-260-7980. If you have questions regarding 
technical support in bulk filing your file, contact the Electronic 
Processing Section at: efileW21099help@marylandtaxes.gov.

EARNED INCOME CREDIT INFORMATION ACT
House Bill 632 (Chapter 352, Acts of 2011), the Earned Income 
Credit Information Act requires the Comptroller to publish 
the maximum eligibility for the State earned income tax credit 
(EIC) on or before January 1 of each calendar year. This Act also 
requires the Comptroller to notify all employers in Maryland by 
mail of the information on the State EIC. The employer then 
must notify each employee who may be eligible for the federal or 
State earned income tax credits electronically or in written form 
by December 31. If you have not received a Tax Alert about this 
requirement, please download the Tax Alert from our Web site.
NOTE: Nonresidents can no longer claim an EIC, local EIC, or 
refundable EIC on a Maryland tax return.

FOR QUESTIONS ABOUT...
Withholding, obtaining forms, lost or destroyed return booklets, 
corporation income tax, personal income tax, nonresident 
shareholders’ or partners’ tax, call 410-260-7980 from Central 
Maryland or 1-800-MD-TAXES (800-638-2937) from 
elsewhere.
If you have a delinquent withholding tax collection problem, call 
410-649-0633.
For the hearing impaired: TTY users call via Maryland Relay 
at 711. If you need a reasonable accommodation for a disability, 
or need the information in this Tax Facts in an alternate format, 
contact the Comptroller’s Office.




