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The Comptroller of Maryland's  

Voluntary Disclosure Agreement Program 
 

The Comptroller's Office offers a voluntary disclosure agreement ("VDA") program that allows 

businesses and individuals to voluntarily report and pay past due Maryland tax liabilities. The 

VDA program is available for all taxes and fees administered by the Comptroller's Office. The 

program is confidential. 

What are the benefits of the VDA program? 

The Comptroller’s office will waive any penalties upon payment of tax and interest through the 

VDA program. The taxpayer will not be responsible for any unfiled tax returns or unpaid tax 

liabilities prior to the lookback period for that tax type.   

How do I send in a request for a VDA? 

Requests for a VDA must be made in writing.  You should e-mail your request to 

vda@marylandtaxes.gov. 

 

You can mail your VDA request to the Comptroller’s office. However, please be advised that the 

processing of your VDA request will be delayed if sent by mail.  The mailing address for the VDA 

program is: 

 

VDA Program 

Comptroller of Maryland 

7 St. Paul Street, Room 210 

Baltimore, Maryland 21202 

 

Are there any restrictions on entering into a VDA? 

The VDA program applies only if we have not previously contacted you about the liability.  

Therefore, you cannot apply for a VDA if you are currently under audit or already have an 

existing liability on your account for the tax type requested through the VDA process.   

mailto:vda@marylandtaxes.gov


The total cumulative amount of tax or fees reported in the lookback period must be $500 or 

more.  Requests for less than $500 in tax or fees will not be accepted by the Comptroller’s office. 

What is the process for entering into a VDA with the Comptroller’s office? 

The taxpayer makes the initial contact with the Comptroller’s office through a third party, usually 

an accountant or tax attorney, by sending an e-mail to vda@marylandtaxes.gov.  The taxpayer 

remains anonymous throughout the negotiation and agreement process. The third party must 

provide an electronic letter request via e-mail, on the taxpayer's behalf, that explains the reason 

for a Maryland liability.  

The electronic letter request should clearly state the taxpayer has not been previously contacted 

by our office about its tax obligations and should also state an approximate amount of the 

liability for the applicable lookback period. 

For businesses, the electronic letter should explain the taxpayer's Maryland business activity and 

when the activity started in the State. The explanation should include all nexus issues, such as 

personnel, inventory, property, etc.  

The Comptroller’s office will send the third party a draft VDA for review.  The third party has an 

opportunity to send revisions, additions, or deletions to the draft VDA back to the Comptroller’s 

office.  If the revised VDA from the third party is acceptable, the Comptroller’s office will send a 

final version for signature by the taxpayer.  The identity of the taxpayer is not disclosed until the 

final draft is signed and returned to the Comptroller’s office.  

Once both parties execute the VDA, the taxpayer usually has sixty days to report and pay the tax 

due. Interest will be calculated by the Comptroller’s office and payable after tax has been paid by 

the taxpayer.   

The Comptroller reserves the right to audit any reported amounts within the lookback period. 

The VDA will be void if any misrepresentations are made. 

What is the lookback period for each tax type? 

The lookback period for corporate and individual income tax is four years. The lookback period 

includes tax for the most recent tax year for which a filing is past due, plus the three years 

immediately preceding. The lookback period for sales and use tax and admissions and 

amusement tax is four years. 
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What is the procedure for reporting a sales and use tax under a voluntary disclosure agreement? 

If you enter into a VDA to report a sales and use tax liability, you do not need to file sales and use 

tax returns for all four years.  You will be required to submit an excel spreadsheet by e-mail that 

states gross sales, sales and use tax due, and sales tax collected for each period during the four-

year disclosure period.  The sales and use tax liability and interest will be entered onto the 

taxpayer’s account and payment can be made once the sales and use tax liability is on the 

taxpayer’s account.  Sales and use tax returns or summary sheets will not be accepted by mail.   

What is the procedure for reporting an income tax liability? 

You will be required to file income tax returns for the current year and the preceding three years 

if you enter into a VDA to report an income tax liability for a corporation, individual, fiduciary, or 

pass-through entity.  The income tax returns can be filed electronically or by mail.  The 

processing time will be dramatically reduced by electronically filing returns and paying online. 

Payment for the tax due shown on the return should be paid electronically after you file the 

return electronically.  A bill for tax and interest due will be sent to the taxpayer after the income 

tax returns have been processed.   

For corporations, fiduciaries, and pass-through entities, online payments can be made by using 

bfile.  For individuals, online payments can be made by using Maryland Taxes Online Services. 

Are payment plans available through Maryland’s VDA program? 

Yes, payments plans are available through Maryland’s VDA program.  If you want to enter into 

VDA but need a payment plan for the liability, you should request a payment plan in your VDA 

submission.  Please be aware that interest for late payment of tax will accrue during the payment 

plan and the length of the payment plan cannot exceed 24 months.  

Do I need to register with Maryland to begin filing business tax returns and paying taxes? 

Yes, you need to register with the State of Maryland to begin filing returns and paying business 

taxes such as sales and use tax, withholding tax, tire fees, and admissions and amusement tax. By 

registering, you will receive a unique Combined Registration Number (“CR Number”) when your 

account is established by the Comptroller’s office.  The CR Number is necessary to file certain 

business tax returns with the Comptroller’s office such as sales and use tax and withholding tax 

returns.   

You do not have to file a Combined Registration Application to file income tax returns for a 

corporation, individual, fiduciary, or pass-through entity.  You can file Maryland income tax 

returns with the Comptroller’s office without filing a Combined Registration Application 

 

 

https://interactive.marylandtaxes.gov/bServices/BillPay/Default.aspx
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How do I register with Maryland and obtain a Combined Registration Number? 

You can register with the State of Maryland by completing and filing a Combined Registration 

Application. Online registration is strongly encouraged to expedite the VDA process.  Registration 

is done through the Maryland Tax Connect Portal. 

Do I have to wait until the VDA process is completed to register online? 

No, you do not have to have a fully executed VDA before you can register with the State of 

Maryland by filing a Combined Registration Application through the Maryland Tax Connect 

Portal.   It may take 30 days for your tax account to be set up after filing a Combined Registration 

Application.  You can submit a Combined Registration Application to the Comptroller’s office at 

the same time as the initial request for a VDA to expedite the VDA process.  

Who do I contact if I have questions on Maryland’s VDA program? 

For information about the VDA program, please submit your question or a request for a callback 

by e-mail to vda@marylandtaxes.gov.  The VDA program manager will respond to your question 

or contact you by phone regarding your question. 

Unclaimed Property Voluntary Disclosure Program 

If you are interested in entering into an Unclaimed Property VDA, the Comptroller's Office 

provides holders who have underreported or failed to previously report abandoned property to 

the State an opportunity to voluntarily comply with the requirements of the Maryland 

Abandoned Property Act.  Interested holders can satisfy their past abandoned property 

obligations, avoid an audit, and forego penalties on delinquent remittances.  To request a VDA, 

please see the Comptroller’s webpage, e-mail upholder@marylandtaxes.gov or call 410-767-

1700 from Central Maryland or 1-800-782-7383.  
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