. MARYLAND SALES AND USE TAX
FORM PURCHASES FOR RESALE

SUT212 REFUND BY FAX

other states who make no sales in Maryland.
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For expedited refunds of sales and use taxes totaling less than $200.00 and paid by licensed
Maryland retailers who remit Maryland taxes or retailers licensed and remitting taxes in

Maryland Sales and Use Tax Registration Number Home State Sales Tax Registration Number State

FEIN Number or SSN of owner, officer or agent responsible for taxes

For Office Use Only
Claim Code

Claim Number

Amount Approved

Approved by

Purchaser

Trade name

Number and street

City / town

State

ZIP code + 4

The undersigned hereby requests the comptroller to refund Maryland sales and use taxes paid on purchases of goods intended for

resale as tangible personal property in the total amount of $

(attach invoices or complete the schedule below).

Purchase date Name and address of seller

Description of goods

Maryland tax paid

Total | $

I HEREBY CERTIFY under the penalties of perjury that I have examined the information set forth in this application including any
accompanying schedules or statements and that said information is true, accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge and

belief.
Signature Print name
Date Telephone Number
Direct inquiries and mail application to: For more information email questions to:
Comptroller of Maryland CDSTREFUNDS@marylandtaxes.gov or call 410-767-1530.
Compliance Division .
7 St Paul Street, Suite 540 Maryland Relay Service (MRS) 711.
. Baltimore, Maryland 21202-1626 .
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MARYLAND SALES AND USE TAX

FORM PURCHASES FOR RESALE
SUT212 REFUND BY FAX
INSTRUCTIONS

Maryland law provides that resale certificates may not be
used to make tax-free purchases for resale of less than $200,
using cash, check or credit card unless the seller delivers the
goods directly to the buyer’s retail place of business. Buy-
ers may claim a credit for any tax paid on these purchases
if made for resale on the refund line of their next return. No
documentation need be submitted with the return.

In lieu of claiming a credit on their next return, in or out-of-
state buyers who have been remitting Maryland taxes may
recover the taxes paid on purchases of less than $200 for
resale by filing this application.

This application may be filed by the purchaser or, if signed by
the purchaser, by the seller on behalf of the purchaser. It may
be filed either by FAX or by mail. The federal employer identi-
fication number, or if none, the social security number, of the
purchaser is required for federal tax purposes.

Applicants must submit copies of the invoices or complete the
schedule for the transactions for which refunds are sought.
Invoices must show the name and address of the seller and a
description of the property purchased.

Taxpayers who are making claims for refund for reasons oth-
er than the resale exclusion may do so by completing and
mailing a regular Sales and Use Tax Refund Application, Form
SUT205, available from Taxpayer Service at 410-260-7980 or
1-800-492-1751 from elsewhere in Maryland.

Retailers licensed and remitting taxes in other states who
make no sales in Maryland may use this application to apply
for refunds on goods intended for resale outside of Maryland.
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2023

A law enacted in 2001 allows out-of-state vendors purchasing
antiques and used collectibles for resale to issue resale certif-
icates in Maryland using a resale number issued by their own
jurisdictions. These out-of-state dealers must give Maryland
vendors a copy of the sales tax license or comparable docu-
ment (such as trader’s license) that vendors must keep with
their records. Out-of-state vendors purchasing other items
may not issue a resale certificate unless they have a Maryland
sales and use tax license.

Out-of-state vendors who wish to issue resale certificates in
Maryland (and thus avoid having to file for refunds) may reg-
ister to collect the tax by completing and filing a Combined
Registration Application, Form CRA, available from Taxpayer
Service. A short form, Maryland Sales and Use Tax License
Application for Out-of-State Vendors, Form COT/RAD-097,
available from Taxpayer Service may also be used for this
purpose.

Direct inquiries and mail application to:

Comptroller of Maryland
Compliance Division

7 St Paul Street, Suite 540
Baltimore, Maryland 21202-1626

If you have questions about your refund email:
CDSTREFUNDS@marylandtaxes.gov or call 410-767-1530.

Maryland Relay Service (MRS) 711.
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